2003-2004 Fleisher Challenge Winners Announced


As usual, many applied (246) and 12 were chosen to exhibit their work in Philadelphia’s most important showcase of contemporary local talent (and frequent springboard to the prestigious Pew fellowship award). This year’s Challenge winners, whose prize is a one-month exhibition at Fleisher Art Memorial, include a number of names familiar to regular Philadelphia art scene followers, notably current or former Vox Populi members Joy Feasley, Sam Belkowitz, Jennifer Macdonald and Doina Adam and Clay Studio affiliate, Heeseung Lee.

Here’s the lineup and the dates.


Fleisher Challenge 1: Joy Feasley [image above], Sam Belkowitz and Jennifer Levonian. Sept. 6-Oct. 4.

Fleisher Challenge 2: Jennifer Macdonald, Warren Holzman and Ahmed Salvador. Oct. 10-Nov. 8.

Fleisher challenge 3: Carson Fox, Noah Shem Klein and Heeseung Lee [image below]. Jan. 9-Feb. 7.


Fleisher Challenge 4: James Johnson, Doina Adam and Thomas Vance. Feb. 13-Mar. 13.


A panel of 10 Jurors (five artists and five curators) picked the winners. Artist-jurors this year were Jeanne Jaffe, Gabriel Martinez, Bruce Pollock, Hester Stinnett and Jack Thompson. Curator-jurors were Susan Rosenberg, Innis Shoemaker (both from the Philadelphia Museum of Art), Michiko Okaya (Lafayette College), Robin Rice (critic), and Christopher Youngs, (Albright College).


This is the 25th year of the Fleisher Challenge series which is administered by the Philadelphia Museum of Art.